Monday, January 26, 2009

And now for the moment we've all been waiting for...

Well, technically, those moments happened yesterday, but the ALA/YALSA winners include (drumroll, please):

The Caldecott Medal, awarded to "the artist of the most distinguished picture book," went to illustrator Beth Krommes for The House in the Night, written by Susan Marie Swanson. Caldecott Honorees were author/illustrator Marla Frazee for A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever, author/illustrator Uri Shulevitz for How I Learned Geography, and illustrator Melissa Sweet for A River of Words: The Story of William Carlos Williams by Jen Bryant.

The Newbery Medal, awarded to "the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children," went to -- squee! -- Neil Gaiman for The Graveyard Book (illustrated by Dave McKean). Newbery Honorees were Kathi Appelt for The Underneath (illustrated by David Small), Margarita Engle for The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba's Struggle for Freedom, Ingrid Law for Savvy, and Jacqueline Woodson for After Tupac and D Foster.

The Printz Award, awarded to a book which "exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature," went to Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. Printz Medal winners were Margo Lanagan's Tender Morsels, Terry Prachett's Nation, M.T. Anderson's The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II: The Kingdom on the Waves, and E. Lockhart's The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks.

The Sibert Award, awarded to "the most distinguished informational book," went to store favorite author/illustrator Kadir Nelson's We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball. Sibert Honorees were James M. Deem's Bodies from the Ice: Melting Glaciers and Rediscovery of the Past and What to Do About Alice?: How Alice Roosevelt Broke the Rules, Charmed the World, and Drove Her Father Teddy Crazy by author Barbara Kerley and illustrator Edwin Fotheringham.

The Geisel Award, awarded to the author and illustrator of the "most distinguished book for beginning readers," went to Mo Willems for Are You Ready to Play Outside?, an Elephant and Piggie book.

The Coretta Scott King Awards, awarded to an "African American author and illustrator for and their contribution to the realization of the American dream," went to author Kadir Nelson for We Are the Ship and illustrator Floyd Cooper for The Blacker the Berry. Honoree authors were Hope Anita Smith for Keeping the Night Watch (illustrated by ), Joyce Carol Thomas for The Blacker the Berry, and Carole Boston Weatherford for Becoming Billie Holiday (illustrated by Floyd Cooper); honoree illustrators were Jerry Pinkney for The Moon Over Star by Diana Hutts Aston, Sean Qualls for Before John Was a Jazz Giant by Carol Boston Weatherford, and (surprise, surprise) Kadir Nelson for We Are the Ship. The Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award, which "affirms new talent and offer visibility to excellence in writing or illustration at the beginning of a career as a published book creator," went to illustrator Shadra Strickland for Bird by Zetta Elliot.

The Morris Debut Award (in its debut year), awarded to a first novel and "celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature," went to Elizabeth C. Bunce's A Curse as Dark as Gold.

The Edwards Award went to Laurie Halse-Anderson to honor her books Speak, Fever 1793, and Catalyst and their "work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world."

The Wilder Award, awarded to an author or illustrator who has made "a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children" over a long period, went to illustrator Ashley Bryan.

Congratulations to all the winners and honorees! To see the full list of awards (yes, there are more!) and to learn about the selection process, head on over to the ALA Booklist site.

No comments: